Crazy Feline

Posted: June 25, 2011 in Personal

I have this male cat that I adore but he’s also a major pain in the ass.  He is completely obsessed with chewing the power cord of my laptop.  I don’t know if he does it to get my attention or if he just loves that little shock he gets when his teeth make contact with the wires inside.  Most of the time he nibbles on it when I am trying too use it and when he is in what I like to call “crazy mode”.  You know that time when a cat wants to run around the house in a barely constrained frenzy and their pupils are dilated as if they found some secret stash of crack.

When he’s like that, I can have the laptop in my lap and he’ll walk straight up to me, purring, then squat on the left side of it, and just start gnawing on the part knobby end that plugs into the motherboard.  I’m holding the frigging thing in my lap!!!  Swats to his butt, copious sprays of water, yelling, nothing stops him.  He’s a nutcase truly.  But he’s cute so I think I’ll keep him.

Comments
  1. alopecia says:

    My guess is he’s after attention.

    If you google “cats chewing on wires,” you’ll find a lot of possible solutions. A wikiHow article (http://www.wikihow.com/Keep-Cats-from-Chewing-on-Electric-Cords-and-Chargers) suggests, among other things, coating the cord with something cats don’t like the taste of, or covering it with double-sided tape. Or, I suppose, you could just stock up on power cords.

    Cats are weird. (But you knew that already.)

  2. drangedinaz says:

    Yeah, he’s weird but that’s part of why I love him. Us quirky creatures have to stick together. He’s been more needy lately and I think he is actually jealous of the baby.

Leave a Reply

