One of the most nightmarish books I ever read was Margaret Atwood’s “Handmaid’s Tale”.  Unfortunately, I’ve been seeing incremental steps toward that nightmare in reality occurring across this country in recent years.  Well, Michigan just took a leap toward such a dystopia by proposing to ban abortion coverage in private health insurance plans and forcing women to purchase a separate rider.  And it has a good chance of becoming law.  It has become law.

I’m so flabbergasted that I’m speechless.

Comments
  1. alopecia says:

    What makes it art, as Charlie Pierce is wont to say, is that those abortion riders *don’t exist.*

    I am once again forced to quote the estimable Cerberus from Sadly, No!:

    “Any woman who votes for the Republican Party for any reason is a fucking moron at this point. I’m sorry, ladies, but they couldn’t make it any more obvious that they hate you wihtout being the director from A Serbian Film.”

    • DRangedinaz says:

      How long before women wake up, the women who aren’t politically active now, and see that they’re liberties are gone? Why aren’t the women in Michigan out in force, battering down the doors to the capitol? Will it take us being completely enslaved? I’m starting to seriously worry and fear for my daughter’s future. I don’t want her to live in a Talibanized America.

Leave a Reply

