To write or not to write

Posted: October 28, 2013 in Novel Writing, Personal
Tags:

So I’m thinking about participating in the National Novel Writing challenge/program/thing.  This is where you join an online site (here) that supports and encourages you to write 50,000 words in the month of November.  The site helps you count and track your progress, plan the novel, provides forums for assistance and discussion, and even offers group meet ups to sit down and write together with other participants in your area.  The meetups I won’t be able to do but the online thing is doable.

See I need concrete objectives to get something done and feeling obligated to anything or anyone external to my teeny tiny closed off world might actually help me get off my arse and write.  Or maybe I should get back to writing that semi-historical novel I started with my sister last year.  Hmmmmm…..maybe I could combine the two?  Maybe I should talk to my sis first.  She might have something to say about the matter.

What say you?  Have any of you ever tried to do this?  If you write, do you have a “method” or do you simply wait for a muse?

Leave a Reply

