First they came for the women

Posted: October 18, 2013 in Constitutional Issue, Discrimination, Elections, Women's Issues
Tags: , ,

Texas Republicans are determined to stop women from voting in next gubernatorial race because the popularity of Senator Wendy Davis, a declared candidate, scares the heck out of them. See women are more likely to support Sen. Davis so the solution is to stop them from voting.

Think Progress reports that as of November 5, Texans must show a photo ID with their up-to-date legal name. It sounds like such a small thing, but according to the Brennan Center for Justice, only 66% of voting age women have ready access to a photo document that will attest to proof of citizenship. This is largely because young women have not updated their documents with their married names, a circumstance that doesn’t affect male voters in any significant way. Suddenly 34% of women voters are scrambling for an acceptable ID, while 99% of men are home free.

Comments
  1. Wow. I went right to the Social Security admins to get my card changed when I got married, but I sure wasn’t in a hurry to change my DL – my ONLY form of photo ID. All I did was tack on another name – yes I’m a hyphen! – so I might have gotten away with it…

  2. Hala J. says:

    Every time I read one of your posts I want to facepalm so hard. By the way, I’m in AZ right now, haha! Visiting cousins, and I’m having a blast. Hope you’re doing all right!

Leave a Reply

