Attitudinal adjustment

Posted: September 27, 2013 in Personal
Tags:

Sometimes I get so tired of myself.  Seriously.  And before you accuse me of acute navel gazing–are you new to my blog?  Because if you’ve read any of my personal posts you should already know that I am the queen of self-centered navel gazing.   I like to euphemistically call it “self introspection”.   I like to think that my periodic “reviews” are what keep me humble, grateful, and cause me to apologize when I screw up, which seems to happen far too often.

See, I’ve regressed a bit over the last few weeks.  I’m bored with my job.  This happens to everyone, of course.  However, I’m the kind of person that can’t stand patiently in line at the grocery store because it’s boring, annoying and a waste of time.  Yeah, I need a valium–several in fact.

My boredom is kind of my fault.  I took the job knowing that I would be working on some antiquated code and that would not challenge me in ways that I need.  The security of the paycheck was too tempting.  So I made that trade off and now I’m stupidly regretting it.  And it’s not like I don’t have things to do.  I have plenty of work but I’m procrastinating.   I should be grateful and eager to do whatever they ask of me.

That’s the core problem–gratitude.  This is probably my greatest character defect–a lack of gratitude.  I have to periodically force myself to stop and count up the wonderful things in my life.   I REALLY, REALLY need to do that because I need to get off my ass.

Comments
  1. But it’s friiiiidayyyyy! No more work thinking for a little while 🙂 Sucks that you are bored, isn’t there any other project you could take on to spice up your day? Have you tried searching for ‘free flash games’ and just plain goofing off?

Leave a Reply

