Absurdity or satire or both, your choice

Posted: February 14, 2013 in Entertainment, Personal
Tags: ,

So, last night I watched the last few episodes of Louie, Season 3 normally shown on FX (via ITunes). I have to say what struck me most was “The Late Show” episodes, 3 in toto, co-starring David Lynch. And the Lynch influence is very pronounced. In fact, you’d have to be a blind, deaf and dumb to have missed the influence on Louis C.K’s style in these episodes. I have to admit I’ve never been a fan of David Lynch and I probably never will be.  Don’t get me wrong, I like the absurd but it has to be anchored enough in a real story line to integrate for me…I need closure, so sue me.   So, Lynch films and TV shows can be too out there, even for me. However, I found the Louis episodes to be the perfect mix of Lynch oddness with Louis Quixoticness TM (I am certain that is not currently a word, so Trademark!) that I actually enjoyed them. If you enjoy that kind of thing, check it out.  And if you do see it, tell me what you think of the scene where Louis is told to instantly make Jack Dall, played by David Lynch, laugh or Louis can forget about ever hosting The Late Show.    That is an incredibly difficult moment not only for Louis but for us as well.  I cringed inside but was yelling at him the whole time, “cowboy up, do it or tell him to fuck off–either way, be a man”.  Watch it and you’ll know what I’m saying.

The other thing I saw was a movie called Butter (via Netflix streaming). I have to say, I actually like Jennifer Garner. Although she has played many a serious character her ability to do satire is always spot on and she was superb in the role of the trophy wife cum butter sculptor extraordinaire. And if you don’t like the premise and need something a little baser to entice you to watch it, there’s some lesbian action too. Hehe…see I had to go there. Anyway, it’s funny, dark and touching,  all at the same time. It’s certainly worth an hour and a half of your time.

There’s my pittance of culture for you this week. You’re welcome, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

