Why do I have cats again?

Posted: February 6, 2013 in Personal, Pet Blogging
Tags:

Yesterday I got home and the cats didn’t come running up to me, which is strange.  So I checked behind all the closed doors and sure enough, they were both stuck in my bedroom the entire day.  For the last few months I haven’t been letting them in the bedrooms at all since the hair and dander was getting to me and the kids.  Anyway, I immediately saw and smelt a small pile of thankfully dry poop on my bed.  I cleaned that up and then looked around for pee stains but didn’t see any.  So I went about my evening.

Finally at about 9 pm, I’m getting ready to go to bed and the room still smells but I just can’t see any obvious causes.  So I’m excited to write a blog post and then slip into restful oblivion.  Alas, it was not to be.  As I was getting under the covers I felt something wet.  I pulled back the comforters (I have two, a nice thick one on top and a thin cheap one on bottom) and what did I find?  The cats had peed all over my bed–ALL over.  I don’t know why I couldn’t see the spots on the top comforter but they were very obvious underneath.

I spent the next hour spraying and dabbing at my poor mattress.  I’m afraid it’s a wash (sorry, couldn’t resist the pun).  I really, really, really didn’t want to buy a new mattress right now, particularly since this one is fairly new anyway.  I just can’t understand why they didn’t do their business on the floor.  I guess because more than anything else in the room, the bed smells like me.  And they are very mad at me for not giving them as much attention lately.  But I can’t help it and I feel guilty because I know they are lonely and miss snuggling up with me at night.  During the day, I am so busy with the kids and stuff it’s impossible to sit still for more than 5 minutes much less love on both the cats.

I was pretty angry last night but today I’m resigned to getting a new mattress.  The only question I have now is, does anybody out there want a couple of lonely but sweet cats?  😦

Comments
  1. rumpydog says:

    Are you sure you don’t need a new door too? My kitties would have torn the bottom of the door and the carpet.

Leave a Reply

