Something wicked this way comes

Posted: January 23, 2013 in Family, Health, Personal
Tags:

Oh how naive I was. Just when I thought I was in the clear, when I thought I had made it through the stomach virus’ incubation window, it struck. I awoke this morning with horrible pain and rumbling in my stomach. By 7:30 am, when I dropped off my son at daycare, I was already weak. I have been in bed between racing to the bathroom all day. I have already lost 4 pounds in less than 24 hours. I honestly don’t know if I will be able to work tomorrow. And I really can’t afford to miss so many hours.

It’s not the sickness that bothers me so much as it is the helplessness of it all. I am terrified that the company I am contracting with won’t be understanding of all the hours that I have missed and that they won’t end up hiring me full time. So regardless of the unrelenting pain in my belly and in my body, that’s what I can’t help worrying about.

This flu sucks, but it’s nothing compared to the mountain of worry I carry about my financial future and all the possible implications. That’s all I’ve got the energy to share today.

Leave a Reply

