Love is like singing

Posted: January 8, 2013 in Personal
Tags:

He who sings scares away his woes.
― Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra

A sure way to tell I’m happy is that I sing to myself. No matter where I am or what I am doing, I will hum or sing to myself bits of songs that float through my mind. Old gospel songs from my childhood, sad blues from my 20’s, lullabies for my children, parts of half-remembered classical movements, obscure songs with killer lyrics…..

Today, I have my voice back enough to sing a little and I’m sitting at work, trying to hum to myself without my supervisors hearing. They sit in offices about 20 feet away with their doors open. Soon the other programmers will come in and sit directly next to me in cubicles. Then I’ll have to tone it down. But I’ll still be singing in my head and holding this happiness tight all day long.

Leave a Reply

