New points of view

Posted: January 6, 2013 in Personal
Tags:

The weekend went by too quickly. We had a very good time at dinner last night and the kids were well behaved at least until we went outside to sit by the fire pits and enjoy the view. The restaurant, A Different Pointe of View, sits atop a mountain in north central Phoenix above the Pointe Hilton Resort (pic of the place at bottom). It offers a lovely view south across the Valley with Camelback Mountain to the southeast and straight down 7th street to downtown and South Mountain beyond that.

Three of us had the Halibut, which was delicious, and my daughter opted for the filet mignon (she’s got expensive taste for a 9 year old what can I say). Anyway after dinner we retired to the outdoor patio and it was chilly so we sat near a large gas fire pit. The kids proceeded to spit soda through straws into the flames in hopes of drowning it out. Imagine their disappointment when we told them that it was a gas fire and they couldn’t drown it out. Also, it was not exactly classy behavior and it might get us in trouble. Thankfully they stopped and we were able to relax enough to have some cognac and look at the stars before departing.

Today we took down the Christmas lights, which we had installed at my boyfriend’s house. Then after Liam’s nap we went to Uptown Alley over in Surprise where we bowled three games. Liam was hard to entertain, being far too small to bowl. However the Alley has a lot of different things to do and see beyond bowling so we were able to keep him busy. Unfortunately that meant walking him down the entire length of the lanes (we were at the 27th lane out of 30) to a very large glass tank wall beside lane 1 that has bubbles blowing through it and accent lighting that mesmerized him. So while trying to quaff some beer, eat wings and fries and bowl, we took turns chasing him back and forth to see “the bubbles”. I bowled horribly–I usually do so no surprise there. But we had fun and that’s all that mattered to me.

On the way home we drove thru Dairy Queen and now we are all home with too full bellies and pretty tired. I really enjoyed myself and wish we had more time to spend together but that will come in time. It’s amazing how much my life and my outlook has changed since moving to the West Valley. I am very happy but still I think what if it gets taken away because it seems that nothing good ever lasts, at least not for me. However, I remain an optimist and every new view is an opportunity that should not be ignored. So I’m savoring this latest view of my life and all the wonderful possibilities that could come from it.

20130106-it193431.jpg

Comments
  1. alopecia says:

    Sounds like a fine weekend to me. Glad you all enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

