Onward and upward

Posted: January 1, 2013 in Blogging, LGBT Rights, Personal, Tea Party, Women's Issues
Tags:

Happy New Year!

Since I made my personal resolutions in a post the other day I wanted to list out my blogging resolutions, or let’s just call them intentions since that sounds less intimidating.

1. I want to keep an eye on women’s issues because it seems to me and others that there has been a concerted effort across the country* to erode many of the gains we have made on social issues like abortion, LGBT rights, healthcare, etc.

2. I want to post something every day. Now that may mean I put inanities and cutesy quotes out there but I want to see if I can do it. So bear with me.

3. I want explore my creative side more. The well of creativity has dried up for me as of late. I still have my imagination in writing but poetry, drawing, painting, have all just faded away. I hope it’s just a phase.

4. I want to give more link love to my fellow “small bloggers” who toil away in semi-obscurity. Speaking of, here are some blog stats for 2012 so kindly crunched and supplied by WordPress.


Notes:
*Remember back during the 2010 elections when the many Tea Party candidates campaigned on the debt and pledged to create jobs? Well they won in a wave in state and federal legislatures and they promptly began focusing on social issues. Long gone was their concern for fixing our financial woes. Instead they started doing things like defunding Planned Parenthood, forcing ultrasounds on women, putting creationism into science textbooks, and busting unions–mostly via state and local legislation. Besides the obvious reasons to be concerned, the state by state nature of these changes make them harder for the average woman to notice but also will make it harder once it comes to repealing them. Instead of repealing one discriminatory law nationally we will have to fight the same battle on 50 different fronts and sometimes through the many levels of our court system. We ignore this trend at our peril.

Comments
  1. Ken says:

    Pretty ambitious stuff. Go get ’em!

Leave a Reply

