Darkness Transposed

Posted: October 2, 2012 in Family, Personal, Uncategorized
Tags:

I survived but I’m tired, exhausted really, which surprise me. It shouldn’t, but it does. The deposition lasted four hours and I can’t even begin to tell you how many questions were completely irrelevant and intended to intimidate and shame me. Having to be polite and not lose my temper for that long a time under such provocation–it’s probably a new record for me. That’s not to say I wasn’t snippy. I was near the end.

I was hungry and sick of having to answer the same questions over and over and over again. You know that stupid trick that attorneys use where they ask a question and you answer it as best you can but they ask it again in a different way. On one point she had asked a question so many times, about a dozen from my count, that I basically said, paraphrasing here, ‘The answer is the same one I’ve given you several times before, you can just look up my answer in the transcript’. On some of the questions, she was completely fishing. I mean, do you know how intimidating that is? The first thing that popped into my head was “my God, are they going to call so and so to testify in the trial?” I really got angry then and became pretty sarcastic with her. She asked me why I was being sarcastic. I felt like asking her why she was being such a c*nt. Then very near the end his attorney got pissy with me and said my responses were too long-winded. I was just trying to be as honest and forthcoming as possible. I guess they didn’t want that. Anyway, I take comfort from the fact that my ex had to pay for the entire thing and it probably cost him a few thousand, whereas it only cost me a couple hundred. It won’t really hurt him. But he should pay for what he has and is still doing. He should pay for making this into a litigation instead of a negotiation and for his hatred of me. It’s okay though. I think his attorney heard some things about her client that she didn’t know before. Let them chew on that. In the end, my attorney said I did fine and that they hadn’t learned anything new. What an incredible waste of money.

So, I’m going to let it go. It’s one more obstacle surmounted. The next is a brief hearing near the end of this month so I’ve got three weeks until I have to worry about it. One day, one foot, one task at a time.

Comments
  1. FFS. Sorry, dear. You see what money buys you: a “c u next Tuesday” as they say over here. Paid well to make you get sarcastic, I’m sure. It depends on just how well your ex knows you – did he tell them your triggers so maybe you would slip up in some way? Gawd, not something I would want anyone to do to me on record. I snap pretty easy over certain things. Deep breath, and take some time off if you can from this stress!

    • drangedinaz says:

      Basically it was four hour insult session (I mean really effin insulting). I feel better today though. Work keptme busy today. If I keep busy, the anger and sadness will pass.

  2. Tina, I can’t imagine the stress. Hang on and try to decompress. Sending hugs and my very best wishes your way. Stay strong.

    • drangedinaz says:

      Thank you! Today was better and tomorrow will probably be even better. We still need to get together for lunch! I want to hear about your trip to the writing camp and all. Email and let me know what week days might be good. I have some flexibility on my work schedule.

Leave a Reply

