Immutata excrementum, diversus die

Posted: September 1, 2012 in Elections, Mitt Romney, Non-AZ, Pres. Barack Obama
Tags: , , ,

I never took Latin but if Google Translation says it’s right, that’s good enough for me!  Seriously though…nothing new here, not really.

I avoided watching the RNC this past week because I didn’t want to get pissed off and have an aneurysm.  Apparently, I’m not the only one who thought it wasn’t worth the hassle.  I’ll admit that I’ve become a political junkie….I can’t really help myself.  I HAVE to keep up on what is going on.  But even I have my limits and I learned them the hard way.

So I digested the RNC through many, many other eyes and well cut videos.  In the end, I didn’t hear anything new (but certainly some strange things like Eastwood…WTF was that!)  Please dear Lord if I ever get that old and weird, don’t let me anywhere near a nationally televised event!  If you want to prop me up and let me perform at the family reunion so you can all laugh at me fine, but not that ignominy.

I’m totally stoked about the upcoming DNC.  Even though I hate crowds, really loud noises, the hassle of traveling to a big city during a big event, etc….I’m incredibly jealous of those who get to go.  Hell, I would have killed to have been at the President’s victory speech in 2008.  It was electrifying on TV, so I can’t even imagine what it would have felt to be there.  There is something that happens in a crowd that can never happen when we are alone.  Maybe it’s the pheromones people put off, or their closeness or the way emotion translates so much better in person…I don’t know.  I just know I would be talking about being there and what that felt like until the day I died.

But I’m here in AZ.  Not the worst place to be, but sometimes a close second.  At least I have my kids and a good job.  I’m better off than 99% of the rest of world….I know that.  Too bad too many Americans don’t–Romney and Ryan, I’m looking at you.  Which brings me full circle to what I wanted to say about the RNC.  I saw nothing new in “new-money ice sculpture” Romney (to borrow a clever phrase from Charlie Pierce) to change my mind from many months ago when I think I finally came to understand him and what he offered the country.

Back in May of this year I wrote the following:

[Mitt’s] all about telling people what they want to hear, regardless of the practicality or even the morality of what they want. He only wants their vote–to close the deal, to make the sale just like the CEO only wanted a deal. He’s the investor who wants his money back. And he doesn’t care what he has to do or who he has to hurt in the process to get it back. He doesn’t care that fewer people might be employed, that the customer might not be getting the best product or service, and that, overall, he has added nothing to the country.

And I’m not the only one to have noticed.  As Charlie Pierce said after watching Mitten’s speech live from the floor of the convention hall:

I think that, somewhere along the trail, it occurred to him that, really, all he was doing was conducting another sale, and that, if there was one thing he can do, it’s that he can sell.

So, what’s changed after the RNC? Nothing except for the fact that I now know that Romney has some cojones.  What else would you call the boldness of maintaining a steady string of lies and obfuscation for longer and in greater depth than any other public figure I can recall in my 42 years on this planet. So Ryan is definitely learning from the Jedi Master of Mendacity and he must be making straight A’s–look at his speech the night before…the audacity of the lying is breathtaking.

They can lie all they want, but just having cojones or audacity, if you prefer, is not something that qualifies you to sit in the Oval Office.  No, what is required to be there, if one should desire to actually be successful, are all the qualities that Romney does not possess.  The RNC simply exhibited not only his but the GOP in general’s selfishness, tone deafness, lack of empathy, short-term thinking, non-introspective, pandering style–in short, moral bankruptcy.  The last thing this country needs is some ice sculpture of a man who would chop shop what’s left of the U.S. economy and then lie about how it’s good for all “you” people.  With Romney, IMHO, it’s definitely the same shit, different day.

Comments
  1. Jordan says:

    I was at the DNC in 08 when the President accept the nod. I am terribly sad I can’t journey to see him speak this year.

    • drangedinaz says:

      That must have been awesome! Some of the bloggers I read are there and posting pics and video so I can live a little vicariously. It’s better than nothing. 🙂

      • Jordan says:

        That is what I am trying to do. You will have to go to the DNC in 2016. I bet then it will be really crazy

        • drangedinaz says:

          Do you read Balloon Juice? John Cole and Angry Black Lady (Cranky and Crazy as I like to think of them) have gone to the DNC this year. Their posts so far have been a hoot. IDK about 2016…if we win 2012, then 2016 is sure to be a Republican….or at least it always seems to work that way. But if we lose 2012, I’ll be working my butt off to stem the damage that Richy Rich and Randy Ryan will do so maybe I should plan for 2016 after all……

  2. Jordan says:

    If we loose this year, I will run far away. I actually have never heard of Balloon Juice. Also, who knows what could and might happen in 2016.

Leave a Reply

