Why I am Voting for Obama: Reason #2

Posted: August 10, 2012 in Culture War, Elections, Healthcare, Mitt Romney, Pres. Barack Obama
Tags: , , , ,
Because he supports Planned Parenthood and refuses to defund them.  The truth of the matter is that Planned Parenthood provides basic healthcare to working class women all over the U.S.  Over 95% of what they do is basic healthcare kinds of things like cancer screenings.  Here, Elizabeth Banks says it much better than I can.
If I can’t get any healthcare coverage until 2014 when the pre-existing clause kicks in then I may need to rely on Planned Parenthood myself.  I want a President who understands this is the reality for far too many women in the U.S.  President Obama clearly gets it and Mitt Romney doesn’t.
Comments
  1. A few years back I was a lobbyist at the statehouse level for Planned Parenthood IN UTAH! Talk about an uphill battle!

    I totally agree with you. Many people may have to depend on Planned Parent for their health care until the pre-existing clause kicks in. The problem with our current health care system is that it’s a business model that profits off the sick, dying, and elderly (who are usually barely making ends meet on a small fixed income). That’s kind of “vulturistic” if you ask me. Programs like Planned Parenthood allow people to get the minimum care they need to get or stay healthy. What some voters don’t realize is that in the end WE ALL pay for the sick and dying one way or another, so it’s best to offer proactive health care programs for those who need it at the lowest cost possible. Thankfully, Planned Parenthood does that. I don’t know how our society could survive without it. (Can you tell I used to lobby for PP?)

    P.S. I’m voting for Obama, too (obviously).

    • drangedinaz says:

      Yes, I can tell actually! LOL It never fails to amaze me how short sighted and impractical so many conservatives are. It takes a certain level of maturity to have empathy for others and plan for the long term. However, I don’t know why anyone would expect maturity from the party that thinks Rush Limbaugh is correct on any issue. Hell, I’m embarrassed to admit he belongs to the same species as the rest of us.

  2. I’m still wondering if I get another vote – but you know where it’s going if I do. I used PP in Cleveland when I first moved there. Best gyn doc EVER – and my first female doc, which made me forever after insist on a woman wherever I ended up. She was awesome, told me when she was palpitating my ovaries and now I know where they are! It was good to learn and to be spoken to like a real human for the first time. And yah, it wasn’t for an abortion, just a pap – and it came back ‘atypical’ as I think they screen better than most. I’m fine, but have had atypicals since and it’s scary.

    • drangedinaz says:

      And that’s part of it, right? That a woman’s healthcare is so much more expensive because our plumbing is so much more complicated–meaning so many more things that can go wrong. But I’ve said it a million times before…the health and wealth of women and children determines the health and wealth of the entire nation.

  3. paula Swinson says:

    I’m always amazed that other more foreward looking countries, like France, have had for YEARS the morning after pill. Can you even conceive how many births are nipped in the bud, no abortion necessary. Yes, we women all scream for our rights, but a lot of abortions are unnecessary. You know, it isn’t rocket science to NOT get pregnant. Why are we so damn lazy and indolent? Just a thought, many abortions might be avoided. What is it? Really? The abortion drs. want the business. Really? Are we that low?

    • drangedinaz says:

      Well, in the case of rape and incest, the woman (or girl) certainly isn’t trying to get pregnant. For teenagers, it is often ignorance. Hard to believe it in this day and age, but we’ve had a decade or so of “abstinence only” education. Since teenagers are going to have sex one way or another, the failure to teach them about birth control means that teenagers not only have a higher rate of pregnancy, their rates of STD’s has gone up.

      And I have to add, it isn’t just up to the woman to think about getting pregnant. So long as we teach our sons to think only about their pleasure and not take responsibility for the children they have created, unwanted pregnancies will continue to occur.

Leave a Reply

