Moving sucks, as expected

Posted: May 18, 2012 in Personal
Tags:

UPDATE: The Charity picked up the small stuff and left all the furniture! So if you ever plan on donating to Big Brothers, Big Sisters…they don’t take furniture. Now I am scrambling to find someone else to get the big stuff. Sigh….

So I spent most of my evening sorting through all the stuff that was left over from the yard sale and moving it outside to the RV parking area.  I just hope that the charity can pick it up before some thief notices it.  The RV area is gated but it is possible to see through the fence.  The thing that took the longest was the millions of Pfaltzgraff dishes that my ex-mother-in-law (who I never met, she passed away before I met met her son) had collected from various yard sales. I kid you not, there are things in that set that I have no idea what they are supposed to be used for.  I’m sure Martha Stewart would know and that’s precisely why she gets on my nerves.

Even after the sun had gone down, it was blazing hot.  Which  reminds me, is anyone else in AZ noticing that it is way too hot, way too early this year?  By the time I leave for work in the morning at 6:30 am, my car registers that its in the 80’s in my garage. But things look beautiful on paper…see the photo below?

Spring?

Spring?

Looks really nice but I took it while trying to walk around the block with my kids in the late afternoon….a big mistake.  We made it around the block and then had to jump in the pool in order not to melt.  I’m already longing for winter.  It’s going to be a loooooong summer for me.

Wish me luck. I am going to need it this weekend.

Comments
  1. I’d love to split the difference with you, temperature wise! Is been in the 50’s here.
    Any pfaltzgraff that’s black or blue with triangles on it? That’s my pattern and I can’t get it anymore. Or even anywhere over here…

  2. drangedinaz says:

    No, the dishes are an off-white with blue floral design (Yorktowne pattern)….I swear there are at least 30 or 40 pieces.

  3. rumpydog says:

    I don’t think I’d like Arizona at all. Moving stinks, and I think part of the reason is I realize how much ‘stuff’ I have that I don’t use or need… until I get rid of it.

    • drangedinaz says:

      What part of the country are you in? Yeah it’s blazing hot here but the worst time to move is actually in July when it is not only hot but also humid. In regards to stuff….I think Americans have far too much on average. Did you you ever see George Carlins stand up bit on “stuff”? Classic and funny.

  4. Wishing you luck with the move. Remember, you are strong and you will get through this.

  5. Hope your move is going well, Tina. You’re right, it does seem really hot for this early. I’m hoping it will cool off a little like it did last year in June–I think we barely ran the AC at all. (Who says there’s no such thing as global warming?)

Leave a Reply

