The D’Ranged Wino

Posted: May 17, 2012 in Personal, Wine Review
Tags:

+ Red Bicyclette Syrah (2009) – I bought this delightful wine at a Fry’s on sale for the ridiculous price of $6.49!! It is, hands down, the best red wine I have tasted in a year. Its balance of fruitiness and spice is very, very nice. From the Languedoc-Rousillon Region of France it has the taste Of blackberries and blackcurrants (aka, cassis). Although the vintner says you can pair it with tomato-based sauces I did not taste it while eating, as I prefer for a wine to stand on its own. If I like it by itself then I know I will like it with food. In any case I am not sure how it would stand up to a bold bolognese sauce so I would recommend it for any savory chicken or duck dish as well as the grilled pork chops the vintner also recommends. If you live in a a region with Fry’s grocery store chain, run, do not walk, to the store and see if they have this lovely wine still on sale.

Slainte!

Leave a Reply

