Downsizing and not hating it

Posted: April 27, 2012 in Blogging, Personal
Tags:

Well life has brought me to a point where I had some critical choices to make. I can’t go into detail until the dust settles but suffice it to say I feel very strongly that it is the only honorable choice I could make. That choice means I will need a large amount of money in the next few years and to get that I will need to significantly downsize. So I am moving from a 2200 square foot home to an 850 square foot apartment.

While many people would be saddened by such a drastic change, I am excited by the prospect of ridding myself of too many possessions, paring down my responsibilities, and simplifying my routine. In order to accomplish this I am having several garage sales over the next few Sundays to get rid of furniture, appliances, yard implements, tools, decor and much more. I hope to get a little cash but mostly wish to avoid having to cart all this stuff to a storage facility. If you are in the Phoenix area and are interested in stopping by to see what I have for sale, send me an email and I can give you the details.

Blogging will be light over the next few weeks as I will be very busy packing and such. I am here and lurking on your many blogs, reading your posts so never fear. I shall return, lighter and eager to continue blogging.

Comments
  1. Wow, that is a drastic change! Good for you for looking on the positive side of it. I have often wished I had a reason to just chuck the clutter. Wish I was mobile enough–I’d stop by just to meet’cha. 🙂

  2. rumpydog says:

    I made a similar change a couple years ago. It was not a smooth transition, but I made it.

Leave a Reply

