Still working off Karma, apparently

Posted: April 1, 2012 in Health, Personal
Tags: ,

I stayed home from work on Friday with my son who was too sick to go to daycare.  By noon I was aching all over.  By 3 pm I didn’t feel like moving off the couch and I was seriously nauseas.  By 4 pm I couldn’t sit up or stand up.  I knew I was in trouble when laying on the floor, I could not lift my head up without having to fight off fainting.  So there I was completely unable to care for myself or my child, who was running around the house unsupervised (not a good situation for an active, curious toddler).  I called my ex, but he was too far away to get there quickly.

It was the first time in my life that I had to call 911 for myself.  I had to crawl to the front door and unlock it.  Liam tried to go outside and I was barely able to restrain him.  They finally arrived to find me lying in the foyer.  My blood pressure was very low (obviously).  After they had an IV in me, I threw up all over the floor.  Not long after my ex arrived to get Liam (thank goodness) and the ambulance took me to the closest hospital.

They tested me for all the common types of flu and other standard blood tests for electrolyte balances, white blood cell count, etc.  None of the flu tests came back positive  but I obviously had some type of infection.  One of the blood tests was high and they said it was a sign of a possible blood clot (hence my messed up blood pressure since all my other vitals seemed okay).  So they had to do x-rays and cat scans.  Luckily, there was no blood clot.  They gave me a very strong form of Ibuprofen that made the aches and pains go away and hydrated me.

They released me at midnight and I took a cab home.  I’ve been sleeping off and on since coming home, taking the antibiotic and anti-nausea meds,  trying to eat and drink slowly moving from a liquid diet to a more solid, bland one.   Have you ever noticed if you haven’t eaten solids  in a few days and you finally do, no matter what you eat, it tastes like nectar of the gods?

I will probably get Liam back this afternoon so I think I will go get some more rest in the meantime.  I should be back in the blogging saddle tonight or tomorrow.  I hope your weekend had a lot less drama than mine did.

Comments
  1. Good lord, whatever did they think was wrong? How scary for you. Glad you’re back home again and have a little time to recuperate.

    • drangedinaz says:

      They couldn’t definitively say…could be any one of the many types of stomach/intestinal viral or bacterial infections. They gave me an antibiotic just in case it was bacterial and if it isn’t it, it will have to just run it’s course.

  2. alopecia says:

    Blog when you can do so without keeling over and not a moment before. Your fan base will just have to do without your wit and wisdom for a while.

    That’s not advice, mind you. That’s an order. :^)

  3. How truly awful! Very sorry that you went through such a horrible experience, and I hope that you get completely well ASAP. Please take good care of yourself and don’t do anything strenuous or difficult until you are no longer sick.

  4. Oh my gosh, how awful! I hope you are well now. It’s scary to be incapacitated and not be able to care for your child. That happened to me a couple times with a migraine and strep throat (very high fever), but I am lucky enough to have family within 20 minutes of me. Take it easy, chickie.

    • drangedinaz says:

      This stupid flu is apparently mowing down people at my office and it is changing from an intestinal/stomach thing to a cough thing. Ugh….I can’t remember ever having such a long run of illnesses before. It must be having a toddler…He’s suffering too. Tomorrow will be another day attempting to care for him and work from home. Thanks for the well wishes.

Leave a Reply

