Arizona legislators are at AGAIN! Now they are trying to defund Planned Parenthood since efforts on the national level had failed. Only problem is, as Texas found out, if you defund one organization then you are discriminating and if you are discriminating you are ineligible for Medicaid. Texas learned the hard way losing out on over $40 million in Medicaid funds. There are a lot of poor women in Arizona for whom Planned Parenthood is their only medical provider. I guess if you are poor and female in Tx and Az, you will simply be out of luck.

Sources:
http://thinkprogress.org/health/2012/03/16/445992/arizona-defund-planned-parenthood/

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/03/15/texas-loses-entire-womens_n_1349431.html

Comments
  1. Not just poor women, I imagine. Daughters of middle-class and upper middle-class parents too…when my husband and I were married college student in Wisconsin, I went to Planned Parenthood for affordable birth control pills. I did not, by any stretch, consider myself poor. I still saw myself as coming from a middle-class family, and I don’t know what we would have done without Planned Parenthood — maybe ended up with a baby before we could afford it, which might have landed us in a lower socioeconomic group, i.e. made us “poor.”

  2. This country is going insane! And I do agree with Jeannette… I started going to PP back when I was 16 because I could without my parents permission, and wanted to go on birth control rather than become a pregnant teen. I was having sex, and not ashamed of it, and was going to continue to have sex.

    But even after I went to college and by then my parents knew I was sexually active, I still went to PP for over a decade because I liked it. And I come from an upper-middle class family. My parents could easily afford to pay for all my medical needs. But I liked PP, trusted them, and just kept going.

    Without them, I may have become an unwed teenage mother and a burden on society.

  3. drangedinaz says:

    It is going nuts and it has to stop. I am glad PP was there for you but I worry most about the poor women who have no other options.

Leave a Reply

