¿Habla Español?

Posted: March 16, 2012 in Arizona Politics, Blogging, Personal
Tags: , ,
According to Wikipedia, the percentage of people who speak Spanish at home is somewhere between about 22 to 29 % in Arizona.  On average 19% of all Hispanics in the U.S. ONLY speak Spanish. So that means we can estimate that if about 25% of Arizona speaks Spanish and 19% of those ONLY speak Spanish then we’re talking about just over 300,000 people speak Spanish and not English in AZ.  Of those, about 1/2 are women.  So, I’m guess that 150,000 Hispanic non-English speaking women may not have a clue about what is happening to their rights in the AZ legislature.  So, for that reason (and many others), I am going to begin trying to double post–one in English and one in Spanish at my new blog — locoinaz.wordpress.com. Just like here, my alias is “Señorita L. Oco in AZ” but I intend to only post political and social items that I think will affect Spanish speakers in the U.S. and that are also posted here in English.  It will be rough at the beginning, but bear with me as I shake off my language skills rust.

¡Vamonos amigo!


Sources:
Comments
  1. Brave girl! Do you speak Spanish or is this all new for you?

Leave a Reply

