Kitty Suicide

Posted: January 24, 2012 in Personal
Tags:

My sweet male kitty, Snow Shoes, has been begging to go outside recently in spite of the fact that he has never lived outdoors except immediately after he was born. Someone found him and his litter mates and turned them into the Humane Shelter, which is where I adopted him a couple of years ago.  Here’s what he looked like soon after he came to his “forever home” with us.

Snow Shooz

Snow Shooz

I don’t know if you can tell from the photo but his eyes are very strange.  They are two different colors strongly delineated in concentric circles–the outer one is yellow and the inner one is green.  He’s not very big and skinny as can be, even now that he is full grown.  Our female Calico is probably 3 times his size.

He is my “dog cat” and I simply adore him.  I taught him to play fetch and we play peek-a-boo, in which he always cheats and peeks too soon.  He is great with the baby and has only tried to bite him once (when the baby pulled his tail very hard and deserved it, thankfully baby let go in time).  He seems relatively content except for this new crazy urge to go outside.  He’s fixed so I don’t think it’s a “call of the wild” situation–although I’ve heard if they leave any tissue behind it can cause hormones to still be produced and they still have some urges.

Anyway, I was feeding our outside kitty, whose bowl is right outside the back door.  I had the door open a little, enough to step out, drop the food in outside kitty’s bowl and step back in.  Problem was that baby Liam was blocking the door from closing because he wanted to go outside too, but I didn’t (it was cold and late).  While I was trying to pry baby Liam’s chubby hands off the door and scooch him inside Snow Shooz decided to make a break for it.

Now he knows I will come after him and scoop him up pretty quick because we’ve had these escapades in the past so he put some serious speed into this attempt.  Unfortunately for him, he failed to recognize the large dark area in front of him was not the same color as the ground.  In fact, it was the pool.  I reacted quickly, setting baby inside, closing the door so baby couldn’t come after me, and ran after my dumb cat.  I swear things went into slow motion and I saw the point where his front paws were over the water and he was probably thinking, “Oh sh*t, where’d the ground go!”  My thought at that same exact second was “Oh sh*t, I hope I don’t have to go in after him!”

He went completely under, surfaced and immediately turned toward me, as I was already kneeling beside the pool edge closest to him.  Thank all the gods that be that he can swim.  He paddled over quickly and I picked him up, both hands firmly around his middle, arms extended to keep the wet mess off of me.  I had not taken two steps before he started shuddering with cold.  A second later, in the kitchen baby is screaming his head off because he has no idea what the heck is going on–he only knows Mommy went somewhere he couldn’t see and couldn’t follow and that pissed him off.

Ignoring baby, I ran with the dripping, twisting cat at arms length to the kids’ bathroom.  During this mad dash, Snow Shooz is trying to put his back legs up to scratch the soft skin on my inner arm and wrist in order to get away.  I reached the bathroom without scratches and grabbed a towel to dry him off.   I was not going to let him go until I had dried him off at least a little.  I already had a trail of cat smelling pool water all the way from the back of the house to the front and I was not going to risk him hopping into my bed to dry off the rest of him.  He wanted none of these ministrations and I was only able to apply the towel for a few seconds at most before he escaped my clutches.  Running to my bedroom he sat in the middle of the floor and licked himself clean and dry for a solid hour.

I was irritated but concerned and kept checking on him.  Every time I peeked around the door to see if he was okay, he’d give me a wary, suspicious look.  What nerve!  I didn’t throw him in the damn pool in the first place and if he’d listened to me, all those times I warned him that he wasn’t an outdoors kitty no matter what delusions of grandeur he entertained, none of this would have happened.  But cats never listen. They’re just absolute stuck up, deaf to sense animals.   If I didn’t know better, I’d think he had a suicide wish.

Comments
  1. alopecia says:

    He’s a very handsome cat. As with all cats, he also has a brain the size of a walnut, so one has to make allowances.

    I saw a video a few months ago (which I can’t find, or I’d include a link) of a vet demonstrating a cat’s off-switch: she put a jumbo-sized binder clip on the back of a cat’s neck, and the critter just sort of froze (I’m guessing it’s a reflex that keeps kittens from injuring themselves when being carried by mama cat). If something like this happens again, heaven forfend, try grabbing Snow Shoes firmly by the back of the neck; if nothing else, it’s a secure hold and it’ll keep your skin out of range of his claws.

    Glad nothing got hurt but kitty’s pride.

  2. drangedinaz says:

    “size of a walnut”

    Well he’s otherwise so clever but instinct wins out over sense every time with kitties…..

    In re: the off switch…yeah, have done that before but if the cat is big (with muscle or fat) it’s hard to get to that spot. He’s pretty stringy so I should be able to do it. I just didn’t have time to think…it all happened so fast, as tragedies and near tragedies always do. 🙂

    BTW, I never thanked you for that mashed potato recipe, so I owe you a very big thanks!

Leave a Reply

