Winter Wonderland Wrap-Up

Posted: December 29, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

What does a icy snow and a 25 lb toddler add up to?  A very sore back.

I completely underestimated the amount of effort it would take to both keep an eye on my daughter while she was sledding and sledding with my son.  Since he just learned to walk, he’s a little unsteady on his pins. So he was precariously stumbling across icy slopes until I realized I would have to carry him almost everywhere.

We’d sled down and he would be thrilled.  Then we’d get up and hike back up the slope.  Repeat process about 200 times.  Did I mention that Flagstaff sits at 8,000 feet of elevation and I live at or below Sea Level in Phoenix?  You wouldn’t think that would make much of a difference but oh does it ever!  In addition, I wore tennis shoes and as a result managed a spectacular fall right on my ass while he was in my arms.  Luckily I dropped him from only a couple of feet in the air and he landed on his well padded bottom.  Unfortunately, he still bonked his nose on my knee.  My butt is slightly black and blue.   His nose was fine.  He and I ended the day exhausted.

The baby and I spent yesterday recovering and my daughter whining.  So what else is new?  I thought I had photos on my phone but they are not there today, so all we will have is memories.  Next year I am either not taking Liam or taking the right gear (AND being in better shape) to make it less onerous.

Next Monday I am going skiing without the kids, so Mommy can play in the snow all on her own.  Even Mommies need a snow day once in a while.

 

Leave a Reply

