Obstacles

Posted: July 13, 2011 in Personal
Tags:

I read a great quote today and it got me to thinking.

If you find a path with no obstacles, it probably doesn’t lead anywhere. – Frank Clark

I have been dealing with a lot of negative things lately and I’m not sure why.  I am probably spending far too much time blaming FSM* for my misfortune.  I certainly am kicking myself for the decisions I’ve made in the recent past as I am definitely suffering some justifiable consequences.  However, some of the stuff like the car accident that cost me $500 out of pocket last month (for the record not my fault, I have a blog post with details) I can only shake my head in disbelief as I look to the sky and say “Really? Now I have to deal with this too?”

I have met some people in recent weeks who’s lives are just as complicated as mine are and I think that’s okay.  Once a person reaches their 40’s if his or her life is a  blank slate, plain vanilla it probably means (at least IMHO) that he/she hasn’t taken very many chances.  No marriages or major relationships (and the fall out from that) in your life, then what chances have you taken in regards to loving and being loved?  What responsibilities, outside of your career, have you taken on?

Not to say that there’s anything wrong with having such a blank slate in regards your personal life.  It’s just that I would rather have tried and failed than never have tried at all.  And goodness knows I am still trying to achieve my goals, both personal and professional, and hopefully that growth will continue until the day I die.  So there are sure to be more obstacles and failures and successes. And somehow that makes me feel better.

Notes:  

*Flying Spaghetti Monster, aka God, or the Universe, whatever high power is out there, if any

Leave a Reply

