Starting Over

Posted: June 28, 2011 in AZ, Personal
Tags:

I had another late night last night.  I’ve been hiding from the emotional unpleasantness in my life.  I’ve been looking at the glass half empty far too much lately and I need to get grateful for the wonderful things in my life.  Here’s my gratitude list:

1.  My daughter, my dark little moon child, petite like an elfin princess, mischievous and sharp as a tack, she gives me so much affection and a chance to be the mother I always wanted for myself.

My Elfin Moon Child

2. My son, rambunctious, happy little sun child, he brings light into every dark corner and reminds me that good things do happen by luck and that I can be lucky sometimes.

My little Sunshine

3.  My job, varied and challenging, reminds me that I am lucky to have one in this economy and appreciative of what a great boss I have now.

4.  My friends, who tell me I’m beautiful and enjoyable to be with and they mean it.  They remind me that kindness to others is actually a gift we give to ourselves.

5.  My current good health, all things being equal I have very few problems and I am lucky because it could be so much worse.

6.  The opportunity to start over.  I was terrified of getting divorced again, of raising a child essentially on my own so late in life.  But at least I have that choice.  Too many women in the world do not have such choices.

7. Waking up and seeing this.

Comments
  1. alopecia says:

    I said it before and I’ll say it again now: those are two beautiful children. Two beautiful children who are lucky enough to have a smart, funny, eccentric, opinionated, loving, tough broad for a mom.

    Play with your kids, hang out with your friends, banter with us loons out here on the interwebs, enjoy those things that give you pleasure. The rest, the stressful and unpleasant stuff … well, the rest can take care of itself for a while.

    End of free advice (worth every penny, if I do say so myself).

  2. drangedinaz says:

    Thank you Alo, its worth many, many pennies 🙂

  3. The Dork Knight says:

    Well stated IG. You have a beautiful family. :0)

  4. That is completely wonderful. I have a gratitude list, too. I once read that if you take five minutes a day to quietly be grateful, you will be more confident. It definitely makes me happier, too. Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

