Sunday: The Day After

Posted: May 22, 2011 in Natural Disasters, Personal

Actually, it was a regular Sunday in most regards, non-Rapture event notwithstanding.  What wasn’t so regular?  The baby slept through the entire night.  In fact, last two nights, he slept from 8 pm until 6 am.  A  miracle, to be sure.  I took full advantage and am fully rested for the first time in months.

Today was also different because I was much more productive than a typical Sunday allows me to be.  I was able to get my daughter’s new/old bed put together.  I had an old frame from a company in New Hampshire (hardwood, with metal plate identifying the company that originally made it still attached).   Back in the mid-90’s I had stripped what I now believe to be several layers of lead paint off of it and found the beautiful wood underneath.  I stained it and kept it all through the many moves and years of my life.  Now my daughter can  make use of it with a new mattress and new wooden slats that I sawed and installed today.  I also bought her a new set linens, which I think she will enjoy–red with white polka dots and reversed color scheme on the other side.

I was able to get the studs marked for new shelves in the formal dining room that I have decided will be an office space.   Sigh..too bad real studs are so hard to find…at least in Phoenix anyway, but I digress.  I have tons of Civil War research books that need a home since half of my bookshelves will be leaving with the soon to be ex.

I also was able to get a week’s worth of laundry done and a pretty good dinner made for myself.  I had found my favorite orange sauce (yes, I am speaking of Panda Express’, Orange Chicken Sauce) at Costco.  I used it on a chicken breast on the grill and it was wonderful.  The sauce lost some of its heat though, so be forewarned if you like the spicy heat.  Normally I would make pot stickers and use the sauce for dipping..  I also had a sweet potato, in part to annoy my  soon to be ex who hates them, but also because I completely adore them.   I will refrain from comment on that situation as it would be hurtful to him and far too much NUNYA for a public blog.

The baby is awfully cranky and will be going to sleep tout de suite.  The next installment of Game of Thrones is on in exactly 15 minutes and I WILL have that one hour to myself, so help me.

I can think of nothing in the news worthy of comment EXCEPT for the horrible tornado damage in Joplin, Missouri.  If you pray to a god, do it for the people of Joplin.  Better yet put your money where you prayers are (“remember faith without works is dead”), donate to a cause to help them get back on their feet as quickly as possible.  Here’s a link to a local Red Cross office that is helping:  Red Cross Ozarks.

Leave a Reply

