Thoughts on Today’s News

Posted: February 22, 2011 in Class Warfare, Lord of the Flies, Non-AZ, Personal, The Economy, The Media, Thoughts on the Day
  • I’m amused by the shock reverberating around the world about the situation in Libya.  People are shocked that Qaddafi would fire on his own people.  Are you kidding?  He’s as crazy as a loon and he’s been neglecting his people to their own serious detriment for decades.   I mean the guy introduced himself as “the king of kings of Africa” at the UN in 2009.  So a bat-shit crazy despot shooting at his rioting populace doesn’t surprise me in the least.  It would no more surprise me than it would if Kim Jung Il, his crazy shortness, of North Korea did the same thing.  Crazy is as crazy does.
  • Today in the latest economic figures were announced and it doesn’t look good.  I’m seeing mixed reports where consumer spending is concerned.  Some are saying it still up and some are saying it down and has been down for 7 quarters.  I don’t know what to believe.  Also, a study of home prices for major metro areas in the U.S. were announced and prices went down to their lowest levels since 2009.  In fact, only one major metro area, Washington D.C., actually saw an increase in housing prices.  Figures those asshats in the Beltway would profit while the rest of country loses.  Tell me something I don’t already know!
  • Of course, oil prices are skyrocketing because of the crisis in Libya, an OPEC member.  I read somewhere but cannot cite the site that Libya is one of the top 20 suppliers of oil for the U.S.
  • Every time I hear MSM talk about the very REAL budget crisis in Wisconsin I yell at the radio/tv/computer.  Their Gov. gave a tax cut to businesses a few weeks before and MANUFACTURED the deficit in Wisconsin. Then he decided to take it out of the state unionized workers hides.  And to top it all off with a cherry on top, he decided he’d try to bust up the unions by taking away their collective bargaining rights too.  I hope the protesters are there for years and his plans are completely foiled.  Either that or I hope that they let the Gov. have what he wants BUT they refuse to go back to work.  I hope they all go Galt like our wealthy overlords are always threatening to do.  And when the whole state grinds to a halt and become a Mad Max reality, they can say it was what the Gov. wanted.
  • In fact, I’ve been in such a pissy mood, I think all the workers in the U.S. should stop working and see how the wealthy like a country that doesn’t work and where NOTHING and I mean, NOTHING happens.  Let’s get all Lord of the Flies up in this place and then when our overlords complain we can say “But the Market will correct everything, even this!”  I’m still sick and doctors still don’t know what’s wrong with me.
Leave a Reply

