Why I am pro-choice

Posted: February 10, 2011 in Personal

Ta-Hehisi Coats has a beautiful essay that moved me to tears about childbirth and why he is pro-choice.  He view reflects my own so well.

My embrace of a pro-choice stance is not built on analogizing Rick Santorum with Hitler. It is not built on what the pro-life movement is “like.” It’s built on set of disturbing and inelidable[sic] truths: My son is the joy of my life. But the work of ushering him into this world nearly killed his mother. The literalism of that last point can not be escaped.

You should read the entire post.

Leave a Reply

