New Beginnings

Posted: January 1, 2011 in AZ, Personal

As the first day of the year, I thought I’d start it off right by following through on a resolution.  I resolved to post once a day, every day for the first 6 mos of 2011.  In order to achieve this daily goal, I will have to rely personal posts more than I have in the past.

I have also resolved to improve my overall health in the months to come.  I wanted to start walking more but the last couple of days have been uncharacteristicly cold.  So cold that we’ve had to cover up our Ficus tree in the front yard and the pepper plants in the backyard.  Our tangerine tree has taken some damage from the cold but will survive.  We had harvested about as much as was possible from tree and will likely be juicing for many hours tomorrow to use the fruit.  I estimate that we picked about 8 or 9 five gallon buckets of tangerines this year.

This first day of the year has been quite enjoyable.  Andrew and I did a good deal of shopping at Michael’s and found some good deals on Christmas decor.  We found deals on LED colored lights, white icicle lights, and a beautiful new wreath for our front door. For dinner we enjoyed a steak, baked potato and broccoli for dinner.  Andrew cooked and as always it was delicious.

Yesterday I watched The Pianist by myself and was extremely moved.  I understand now why Adrian Brody won the Oscar for Best Actor that year.  We both saw True Grit today and I was very impressed by the acting of the Hailee Steinfeld, who played the 14 year old Mattie, and Jeff Bridges as Rooster Cogburn.  I think it will be up for Best Picture and Bridges might win for Best Actor.  And I wouldn’t be surprised is Hailee wins for Best Actress. 

Liam was fussy tonight but he’s been having problems with his tummy.  It’s to be expected though…..poor thing only eats soy formula.  We’ll both be happy when he has more food options in a month or so.  All in all, a good start to the year.  Let’s hope and pray that all continues well for our small family, for my community and for our nation.

Slainte!

Leave a Reply

